Home | About Us | Our History | Our Projects | Contact Us | Upcoming Events | Donate | Scholarship Application | Grant Requests
Back to Projects

Youth Tennis Foundation of Florida Junior Championships

On July 30, 2011, the YTF held its second annual sanctioned youth tennis tournament in Treasure Island, Florida. The tournament had 33 entries and fielded 8 divisions with a first match consolation draw. Each participant received a YTF tournament t-shirt and winners and runner-ups took home a nice trophy to remember the event.

The YTF gives special thanks to its tournament director Jeff Chambers and head referee Scott Harrison for their time, dedication and hard work to make the tournament a great success. The YTF wishes to further acknowledge the generous donations of its corporate sponsors, Premier Worldwide Express, Craig Broome DMD, P.A., Chambers Law Group and Brant A. Bailey, P.A., as well as The Club at Treasure Island for hosting the tournament at its beautiful clay court facility overlooking Boca Ciega Bay. All proceeds from the tournament will go directly to benefit the Foundation in furtherance of its efforts to promote youth tennis throughout the State of Florida.

  Tournament Desk at The Club at Treasure Island   (left) Tournament Director Jeff Chambers;
YTF President Ed Jagger

  Start of Boys 12 Final   (left) YTF President Ed Jagger and Boys 12 winner
Philip Chiritescu, Bradenton

  Girls 16 Runner-Up Evie Sobczak, St. Petersburg   Girls 12 Winner Blaire Buck, Tampa

  Girls 10 (left) Winner Frankee Hendricks, Tampa;
Runner-Up Genesis Whitelock, St. Petersburg
  Boys 18 (left) Runner-Up Briton Richardson,
Wesley Chapel; Winner Luke Blankenship, Lutz

  Girls 16 (left) Winner Shachaamah Brown, St.
Petersburg and her coach Al Sarmiento,
Jessica Honsberg, Kissimmee
  Boys 10 (left) Winner Christopher Reilly,
St. Petersburg; Runner-Up Filio Cebic, Tampa

  Boys 14 (left) Winner Max Garramone, Ft. Myers;
Runner-Up Nicholas Milius, Tampa
  Boys 16 Winner Rhys Richardson, Wesley Chapel


The First Annual Youth Tennis Foundation of Florida Junior Championships were held July 4-5, 2009 at the beautiful tennis complex of Florida Gulf Coast University. Some 32 players participated in the tournament. There were players in 8 of the 10 divisions offered. Players received YTF T-shirts commemorating the event and bottled water was provided courtside. Winners and finalists received awards.

Florida Gulf Coast University assistant athletic director and men's tennis coach J Webb Horton helped in the set up of the tournament; YTF board member Bobby Curtis ran the tournament while YTF President Ed Jagger assisted in the tournament management. YTF board members Scott Harrison (behind the scenes computer work and publicity) and Jeff Chambers (securing sponsors Kushner & Kushner Attorneys at Law and MAD Tennis Academy) also ssisted in the event.

The tournament was planned for one day on Saturday but late afternoon thunderstorms postponed three finals until Sunday morning. Please have a look at the pictures of the champions and finalists and some candid shots of the day below.   Click Here to see the complete draws for the tournament.

Florida Gulf Coast University Tennis Complex

Hub of action

Bobby Curtis (seated) and Ed Jagger (red visor) man the tournament desk

Referee Joe Balavage gives prematch instructions

G10 Champion Alyssa Mayo(left) Finalist Elizabeth Stallman             G12 Champion Madison Neill                                     

G14 Champion Denise Azcui(right) Finalist Nishani Karunamuni     G16 Champion Madeleine Ahrens(left) Finalist Hailey Grillo

B10 Champion Ian Ziegler (left) Finalist Kanishkh Ramesh         B14 Finalist Trevor Viner                                    

                B14 Champion Koustubh Ramesh                          B16 Champion Joel Collins (left) Finalist Peter Kwa

B18 Champion Evan Stutchin (left) Finalist Parker Cuevas-Woodall

Copyright ©2007- Youth Tennis Foundation of Florida All Rights Reserved.