Home | About Us | Our History | Our Projects | Contact Us | Upcoming Events | Donate | Award Applications | Grant Requests
Back to Projects

Men's and Women's Small College Championships

After the success of the Men's and Women's Bedford Cup Events, the Youth Tennis Foundation of Florida (YTF) decided in 2018 to host and fund a YTF Small College Championship featuring men and women from the state's Division II, NAIA and Junior College teams. This event would provide a unique opportunity for these three divisions of college tennis to compete against one another in the same tournament. The first two years of the event have been played at the Beerman Family Tennis Center in Lakeland.

2019 Small College Event


Players from eight colleges and universities competed in the tournament, held at the Beerman Family Tennis Center in Lakeland, over the weekend of October 11-13. Ekaterina Grib, from the University of Tampa, won the women's event, besting Lixin Wang of Flagler College, 6-4, 6-4 in the final. On the men's side, Kayne Trustfull beat teammate Athanasios Bills, both men from St. Leo's University, in the final 6-4, 6-3.

The tournament had an international flavor to it. Players from all across the globe participated. Ekaterina is from Minsk, Belarus; Lixin is from China; Athanasios is from Greece; and Kayne is from the Netherlands. Well over half of the players came from countries other than the United States, which is a sign of the times … tennis is booming on the world stage. As it was last year, players came from over thirty different countries.

The NAIA schools are in the Sun Conference, whereas the D-II schools are in the Sunshine State Conference. As expected, players from the D-II teams, which included Tampa, Flagler and St. Leo's, dominated the event. Warner, Webber and Southeastern ably represented the NAIA schools and Chloe Murphy's team from the State College of Florida (Manatee-Sarasota), which was the only JUCO team to compete and win some matches as well.

2019 Small College Players

Winner Grib (left) and Wang

Grib and Savannah Williams (left) winners_ Anika Nissen and Alessandra Traub

Trustfall (left)

2018 Small College Event

Copyright ©2007- Youth Tennis Foundation of Florida All Rights Reserved.