Home | About Us | Our History | Our Projects | Contact Us | Upcoming Events | Donate | Scholarship Application | Grant Requests
Back to Projects

Women's Bedford Cup

The Bedford Cup was created to feature the top collegiate women's tennis players from all NCAA Division I tennis programs in the state of the Florida. The Youth Tennis Foundation (YTF) of Florida sponsors and runs the event with funds donated by the Edward T. Bedford Foundation. All the teams have to do is get to the event. YTF takes care of all lodging, food and tournament needs for the players. Seven of Florida's D I Women's teams competed in the inaugural tournament in 2012.

2019 Bedford Cup Women's Event - October 4-6, 2019

Ft. Myers, Fla. - The Florida Gulf Coast University (FGCU) women's tennis team hosted the 2019 Bedford Cup October 4- 6, 2019 at the FGCU Tennis Complex. The Eagles hosted seven of the Division I tennis teams in the state of Florida, including Florida International (FIU), North Florida (UNF), South Florida (USF), Florida Atlantic (FAU), Central Florida (UCF), Stetson (STE), and Florida (UF).

2019 Women's Bedford Cup Participants

Ron Fick (left) Bedford Foundation Trustee and J. Webb Horton Tournament Director

In the Women's A Singles final, Nanjdini Sharma (2) (UCF) def. Lucia Montano (3) (UNF) 6-4, 6-4. UNF's Ana Paula Melilo and Lucia Montano def. Radka Buzkova and May Kimhi (4) (FAU) 6-2 for the Women's A Doubles title.

A Singles Winner Nandini Sharma (UCF) (left), Lucia Montano (UNF),
finalist, J. Webb Horton TD

A Doubles Finalist May Kimhi (FAU)

A Doubles Finalist Radka Buzkova (FAU)

In the Women's B Singles final, Louie McClelland (FAU) def. Sydney Berlin (2) (UF) 6-4, 4-6, 11-9. Lourdes Ramalle and Alba Retortillo (2) (FGCU) def. Lucia Garrigues-Melendez and Selin Yaylali (1) (USF) for the Women's B Doubles title. In the Women's C Singles final, Lucie Renault (2) (STE) def. Francisca Vergara (1) (FIU) 6-3, 6-2.

B Singles Winner Louie McClelland (FAU)

B Singles Finalist Sydney Berlin (UF), J Webb Horton Tournament Director

C Singles Winner Lucie Renault (STE)

B Doubles winner Lourdes Ramalle (FGCU)

B Doubles Finalist Selin Yaylali (USF)

2018 Bedford Cup Women's Event

Congratulations to four Miami Hurricanes who claimed titles at this year's Bedford Cup!

2015 Bedford Cup Women's Event

photo by Linwood Ferguson during day 2 of event

The winners of the 2015 Women's Bedford Cup are:

Women's Singles: Yolimar Ogando, University of Miami
Women's Doubles: Yolimar Ogando and Wendy Zhang, University of Miami

2013 Bedford Cup Women's Event


Thank you for participating in this year's Bedford Cup! The University of Florida would like to thank the Youth Tennis Foundation, the Bedford Foundation, and Ron Fick for making this all possible.

I hope you had an enjoyable time these four days! Attached is the group picture.

Good luck the rest of the fall season.

Kate Harte
Director of Tennis Operations
University of Florida

2012 Bedford Cup Women's Event


Kelsey Laureneta from the University of Miami defeated unseeded Amy Sargeant of Florida State University 6-1, 6-4 to capture the singles title at the Inaugural State of Florida Division I Women’s Collegiate Championships, held from November 2-4 on the campus of the University of South Florida. In so doing, she took home the Bedford Cup and will be the first to have her name inscribed on the magnificent Cup, named after Edward T. Bedford, whose foundation donated the money to the Youth Tennis Foundation, which created, and sponsored, the event. Players from the University of Miami, Florida State, Florida Gulf Coast, Florida A & M, the University of Central Florida, the University of North Florida and the University of South Florida competed for the title.

The top seeded player, Ekatarina Vasenina, of USF, was upset by the eighth seed, Mia Vriens, of FSU in the quarters. Laureneta, the fifth seed, upset the fourth seed, Daneka Borthwick of Florida State in her quarter final match. She then beat Vriens in the semis to advance to the final round.

On the bottom half of the draw, Sergeant upset the sixth seed, Alonso, of USF in the round of 16, then upset the number four seed, Francesca Segarelli of FSU in the quarters, and then beat the second seeded player, Lilekita of UM in the semis to earn her spot in the finals.

In the doubles, the team of Brittany Dubins and Nichole Stracar of the University of Miami defeated Laureneta and Lina Lilakite, also of the University of Miami, to capture the title. Vasenina and Alonso, the second seeded team, were upset by the unseeded team of Lareneta and Lilekita in the semis. In the other semi final match, Dubins and Stracar, the fourth seeded team, defeated the unseeded team of Melanie Aguirre and Lorena Aviles of UNF, who upset the top seeded team of Borthwick and Segarelli in the quarters.

Mia Vriens of FSU was the recipient of the Sportsmanship Award, which was voted upon by the players, coaches and tournament referees. Irene Rehberger was the tournament director. The site of next year’s event has yet to be determined but UM, FSU, UNF, USF and UF have expressed an interest in hosting it and al l twelve Division I teams are expected to participate, as was the case with the men’s event held in September at the University of Florida.

Copyright ©2007- Youth Tennis Foundation of Florida All Rights Reserved.