The Youth Tennis Foundation of Florida, Inc. (YTF) proudly announces that it will sponsor the first ever Division I Men’s Tournament in the State of Florida. The Florida State Tennis Championships, will invite up to four players from all twelve (12) of the Division I teams to compete in the event, which will take place from September 23-25, 2011 at the University of South Florida. The University of Florida, University of Miami, Florida State University, University of South Florida, University of Central Florida, University of North Florida, Florida Atlantic, Jacksonville University, Florida A & M, Stetson College, Bethune-Cookman will join Florida Gulf Coast University in the competition.

The winning player will have his name inscribed on a perpetual trophy, to be called “The Bedford Cup,” in honor of the family who donated money to fund the event. J. Webb Horton, who has coached the FGCU men’s team for the last several years, is the tournament chairman. There will be an “Information Night” on the Saturday, September 24, at which time junior players who aspire to play tennis in college can meet the coaches and the players and learn more about the schools and their programs. There is no charge for attending the event but donations to the YTF will be welcomed.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *